Golf’s 2016 Calendar Seasons set to tee off

greenside picGolf’s 2016 calendar season tees off this week in Maui, Hawaii with the PGA Tour’s Hyundai Tournament of Champions and the European Tour’s BMW South Africa Open.

Patrick Reed and Andy Sullivan are defending champions respectively.

The LPGA Tour opens its campaign later in January at the Pure Silk-Bahamas LPGA Classic with Sei Young Kim returning to defend her title.

The new calendar year ushers in a host of changes from event and schedule stand point and from the rules of golf with the anchor-ban on putting.

With golf returning to the Olympics in August (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil), the world’s golf tours have adjusted schedules to fit accordingly. The year also features the Ryder Cup in late September/early October and the UL International Crown in women’s golf in July.

CordeValle, California will host the U.S. Women’s Open, while KPMG Women’s PGA

2016 tees off this week

2016 tees off this week

Championship heads to Washington.

On the men’s side, Augusta National hosts the Masters as always but the other three major venues include Oakmont Country Club in Pittsburgh (U.S. Open), Royal Troon in Scotland (Open Championship) and Baltursol Golf Club in New Jersey (PGA Championship).

Other Golf News:

  • Jordan Spieth, the Official World Golf Ranking No. 1, tops the betting futures list for the Masters in April. The defending champion at Augusta is listed as a 5-to-1 favorite at Station Casinos in Las Vegas.
  • Golf Digest magazine’s annual survey of golf enthusiasts — in the January issue — rank Jim Nantz at the favorite host/play-by-play announcer and Joe Buck as the least favorite. Golf Channel was voted best network for televised golf. Nick Faldo was named favorite analyst ahead of Johnny Miller.
  • World Golf Hall of Fame member Phil Mickelson announced he will play Pebble Beach in February on the PGA Tour.
  • Hyundai_PGA_golfAmerican-born players have captured the Hyundai Tournament of Champions in the last five seasons. Reed edged Jimmy Walker in a playoff last year, while Jason Day finished T-3.