Inbee Park shoots 61 to win LPGA Tour title

Final Round – LPGA Tour – ManuLife Financial LPGA Classic –Grey Silo Golf Club – Waterloo, Ontario, Canada–

One week after losing her Rolex Ranking No. 1 slot, Inbee Park bounced back to capture her first title of 2014 winning the ManuLife Financial LPGA Classic in Canada.

Park fired a final-round 10-under-61 to tie the course record at Grey Silo Golf Club in Waterloo, Ontario. She finished 23-under overall – two shots clear of Cristie Kerr, who shot 63.

Overnight leader Shanshan Feng ended up third by herself at 18-under followed by T-4 efforts by Lydia Ko and Belen Mozo. World No. 1 Stacy Lewis shot 8-under-63 in the final round to close with a T-6 finish. It was her 11th Top 10 of the 2014 season in 13 starts.

For Kerr, it marked his 20th career runner-up finish on the LPGA Tour.

Park won six times on the LPGA Tour last year including three major championships. The victory here will position her as one of the favorites at the U.S. Women’s Open. Park entered the week tops on tour in Putts Per Round and it paid off in Canada with a win.

The LPGA Tour is off next week as players prepare for the U.S. Women’s Open at Pinehurst No. 2 – immediately after the men’s competition. This was the tour’s final tune-up.

Other Golf News:

  • Ben Crane (10-under) held for a wire-to-wire victory at the PGA Tour’s FedEx St. Jude Classic in Memphis. Crane shot 74 in the final round to hang on by a shot. It was his 5th career PGA Tour victory and first since 2011. Crane was a 150-to-1 pick at to win the title.
  • Sweden’s Mikael Lundberg (12-under) rallied from six shots back in the final round to win the Lyoness Open in a playoff. He entered the week ranked 872nd in the world.
  • Former U.S. Open champion Webb Simpson shot 66 to finish T-3 at 8-under at the FedEx St. Jude Classic alongside Matt Every and Carl Pettersson. Phil Mickelson was 2-over on his final round and finished T-11. He is still without a Top 10 this season on the PGA Tour.
  • Jay Haas was named the U.S. team captain for the Presidents’ Cup squad in 2015.