Players Championship adopts three-hole aggregate playoff

The PGA Tour announced a new playoff format for its signature event  — THE PLAYERS Championship.

Held May 8-11 at TPC Sawgrass, the championship moves to a three-hole aggregate playoff to decide its champion instead of a sudden-death playoff as in year’s past.

Tiger Woods won the title a season ago, but will be return to defend. He continues to rehab from surgery earlier this month, which knocked him out of the Masters. Speculation on timetables for his return are wild and rampart, but many feel he will return in October thus missing the remaining three major championships.

This year’s Players at Ponte Vedra Beach will again feature the largest single-tournament prize money of the season and is expected to draw the world’s best competitors.

Other Golf News:

  • The LPGA Tour tees off in Oahu, Hawaii Wednesday for the LPGA LOTTE Championship from Ko Olina Golf Club in Oahu. Rolex Ranking No. 1 Inbee Park is the betting favorite at 6-to-1 odds, according to Kraft Nabisco runner-up Michelle Wie is the field this week. Golf Channel has the television coverage.
  • Woods, still the No. 1 player in the Official World Golf Ranking at the moment, has not won a major championship since the 2008 U.S. Open.
  • U.S. Ryder Cup Captain Tom Watson tees off Thursday in the opening round of the RBC Heritage at Harbour Town Golf Links with Davis Love III and Masters runner-up Jordan Spieth. The trio tees at 12:40 p.m. local time. Spieth played for the U.S. Presidents Cup squad last fall.
  • Jason Day, who won the WGC-Match Play title in February, returned for the Masters Tournament where he contended in 2013 following a thumb injury. He finished T-20 at Augusta. Apparently he needs more time to recover. Reports have him sitting out again until THE PLAYERS in May. He is currently 5th in the world ranking.
  • The European Tour hosts the Maybank Malaysian Open this week. Lee Westwood, who recorded a Top 10 at the Masters last week, and former Open champion Louis Oosthuizen are the favorites to win.